Season Opener 2017: It’s Team Sherman vs Team Small for the second year running

The Intra-Club is upon us. This classic fixture is traditional curtain raiser to the season, with the whole squad brought together for a festival of cricket, cobweb-brushing and craic on the best pitches mid-April can give us.

This year is no different. What also isn’t different to 2016 is the team captains. The 2017 captain Daniel Sherman takes on the 2016 captain Matt Small with their select XIs, in a re-run of last year’s contest.

This year’s skipper Daniel Sherman teams up with last year’s Bowler of the Season Chris Brown, along with stalwarts of the club, Matt Cocken, James Keating, Raju Mazumder and Lewis Robinson.

He welcome newcomers Ali Tyzack, Peter Jackson-Eastwood, Chris Pluck to the club, and welcome the long-lost Matt Glover back to the fold. Dan Long completes the line-up, getting his cricket in before returning to New Zealand.

Matt Small makes it more of a family affair with last year’s Fielder of the Year Elliott Small and tall left-armer Alasdair Gordon as his picks. Player of the Season Mo Shaboodien looks to extend his commanding form with both bat and ball.

Back for more KRCSC good stuff are veterans James Couldrey, Dave Hughes, Adam Paterson and Michael Rossi. New-boy Doug Phethean makes his first run out. Dangerous batsman Rich Harper and dangerous all-rounder Joe Conway make up the XI.

As with any Intra-Club, term team “friendly joshing” could be used as the mind-games are played within the squad. Divisions more stark than the Post-Brexit vote, and similarly will end with Daniel Sherman at the end calling for “Unity” amongst the players under his new reign.

No doubt the chatter will be taken onto Wandsworth Common this Sunday as The Road, well known for our fielding banter, will hope to keep spirits high.

The season starts here.

Author: Matt Small

Fast Bowler Extraordinaire & Media Secretary 2017